Veterinary Internship


(Tradução para o Português no fim da página)


Today I met death… Again.

In case you haven’t followed, I started my veterinary medical internship last week (Jan 24). In Brazil you can start your internships as early as from the 3rd semester in college (however, there are many limitations on what you can and cannot do as an intern) and since I’m about to start my fourth semester, here I go.

I'm an intern at an emergency clinic, therefore, me and the other interns must wear those scrubs all the time. I like it though. Faço estágio numa clínica de emergências, então o pijama cirúrgico é obrigatório como "uniforme".

I’m an intern at an emergency clinic, therefore, me and the other interns must wear those scrubs all the time. I like it though. / Faço estágio numa clínica de emergências, então o pijama cirúrgico é obrigatório como “uniforme”.

My first day was crazy, awkward and awesome at the same time! I was feeling veeeeeeeeery insecure at the beginning, but the other interns, doctors and technicians were all so patient and nice to me and I learned a lot from them. And every time I go there I come back home with another huge package of freshly acquired knowledge and experience.

However, sometimes it can get tough and psychologically stressful. And like I said, “today I met death again” and it was much closer than I wished. We’ve putted a puppy to sleep – she was a llittle stray dog brought by a kind gentleman who saw her dying on the streets and tried to help. Unfortunately, she had the Canine Distemper Virus at a very advanced stage and there was nothing left to do… but that. I wasn’t the one to do the procedures, but I held her and patted her until she stopped breathing. It was a very sad moment, for everyone.

Despite these kind of things being routine in veterinary medicine, it’s still definitely difficult to me because, although I don’t want to see any living creature to suffer, I don’t think I have the right to decided when it’s their time “to go”.

I’m not sure how I’m going to deal with it in the future (though I’m pretty sure there will come a day when I’ll have to), I just hope I can find a good way to cope with. As of the moment, I just wish that baby is at the rainbow bridge now, having all the fun and caring that was denied to her in Earth. Rest in peace, little one.


(Portuguese translation below)

Hoje eu me encontrei com a morte… De novo.

Caso vocês não tenham acompanhado, eu comecei meu estágio em clinica médica e cirúrgica de medicina veterinária semana passada (dia 24 de Fevereiro). No Brasil, você pode começar a estagiar desde o terceiro período de faculdade (embora haja muitas limitações quanto ao que você pode ou não fazer) e já que vou iniciar meu quarto período este ano, aqui vou eu!

Meu primeiro dia foi uma loucura – foi estranho e incrível ao mesmo tempo. Eu estava muuuuuito insegura no começo, mas os outros estagiários, bem como os médicos e auxiliares foram todos muito pacientes e gentis comigo e me ensinaram bastante coisa. E todos os dias que volto de lá, venho com uma bagagem enorme de novos conhecimentos e experiências.

Entretanto, às vezes as coisas podem ser difíceis e, como eu disse, “hoje eu me encontrei com a morte de novo”. E foi muito mais próximo do que eu gostaria – nós botamos uma filhotinha para dormir. Era uma cadelinha de rua, trazida por um bondoso senhor que a encontrou nas ruas e tentou ajudar. Infelizmente, ela tinha Cinomose em estagio avançado e não havia mais nada a ser feito. Não fui eu quem realizou o procedimento em si, mas eu a segurei e acariciei até que ela parasse de respirar. Foi um momento muito triste, para todos.

Apesar de coisas assim serem rotineiras na medicina veterinária, é ainda muito difícil para mim lidar com esse tipo de situação porquê, embora eu não queira ver nenhuma criatura sofrer, eu não me vejo no direito de decidir quando é a hora certa de “deixar partir”. Entendem?

Eu ainda não sei bem como vou lidar com isso no futuro (embora eu saiba que eventualmente eu vou precisar dar um jeito), eu só espero que eu consiga encontrar uma boa forma de enfrentamento. Por hora, tudo que desejo é que aquela bebezinha esteja agora na ponte do arco-iris, recebendo todo o cuidado e carinho que lhe foram negados na Terra. Descanse em paz, pequenina.

Reply

