Kiwi…?


Hi everyone, how was your holidays? I hope you’re all having a terrific new year! And if you’re looking for a good anime series to start watching in 2016 I recommend “Erased“, currently being streamed by Crunchyroll (Yeah, I know. Felipe is turning me into an anime person).

This is how a Kiwi usually looks like when cutted in half

This is how a Kiwi usually looks like when cutted in half

As for me, right now I’m trying to get rid of the few pounds I gained during Christmas, New Year and birthday (it was last week, January 3) celebrations. You see I have this genetic tendency to obesity so I gotta keep my weight in track all the time. However, it’s harder than usual during holidays because of delicious food (specially cakes).

Lucky me, I can lose weight almost as fast as I gain it. I usually cut my calories intake, avoid certain types of food and keep doing my daily exercises. But since I’m a huge sweet tooth I can’t live happily without sugar. That’s why yesterday I went to the supermarket to buy sweet fruits and guess what? I realized I am totally retarded (lol)! Why, you ask? Well, I simply adore Kiwis, but I never saw it for sale anywhere. I thought maybe it was because some fruits are hard to find around here in Manaus and Kiwi was one of them but last night I found out that I had no clue how a Kiwi looked like inside its shell… -_-

Fortunately, this time I read the small tags under the shelves and discovered I could have always bought so many Kiwis before (if only I had read the tags), it has always been there, in my face! And it’s not even as expensive as many other fruits that aren’t regularly farmed here (like strawberries, strawberries are really expensive in Manaus).

...And this is how it looks inside its shell. Who would have known, right?

…And this is how it looks inside its shell. Who would have known, right?

So I bought some Kiwis and other fruits and discovered I’m a professional Kiwi peeler! All you have to do is cut it in two halves and, with the help of a spoon, gently separate the pulp from the shell.

Kiwis are wonderful berries. They have a monstrous amount of vitamin C, taste bittersweetly delicious and are really light in calories: Around 50 kcal per 100g. If you’re trying to lose weight like me, you should definitely add kiwis to your diet. There are many recipes around the web, but I personally like to eat it raw or juiced. It goes marvelously with pineapples and bananas.

Reply

