Halloween in Brazil


(Yeah, I know this post is about a month late but better late than never, right?)

Halloween is definitely my favorite holiday of the year. I’m not sure why, though – Maybe it’s due the many symbolism it represents, maybe because I really like morbid/dismal themed stuff, maybe because purple is my favorite color and it’s awesome so see so many purple/orange decorations everywhere (also, purple+orange=best match ever).

IMG_0764-0

Evil Surgeon me and “Sr. Abóbora” (please don’t mind that humble pumpkin, it’s really hard to find nice shaped and sized ones here)

Or maybe (and most likely) because I value life so much that I just can’t overlook death.

About this special holiday:


“Halloween is the one of the oldest holidays still celebrated today. It’s one of the most popular holidays, second only to Christmas. […]

Halloween is on October 31st, the last day of the Celtic calendar. It was originally a pagan holiday, honoring the dead. Halloween was referred to as All Hallows Eve and dates back to over 2000 years ago.

While there are many versions of the origins and old customs of Halloween, some remain consistent by all accounts. Different cultures view Halloween somewhat differently but traditional Halloween practices remain the same. Halloween culture can be traced back to the Druids, a Celtic culture in Ireland, Britain and Northern Europe. Roots lay in the feast of Samhain, which was annually on October 31st to honor the dead.Samhain signifies “summers end” or November. Samhain was a harvest festival with huge sacred bonfires, marking the end of the Celtic year and beginning of a new one. Many of the practices involved in this celebration were fed on superstition.The Celts believed the souls of the dead roamed the streets and villages at night. Since not all spirits were thought to be friendly, gifts and treats were left out to pacify the evil and ensure next years crops would be plentiful. This custom evolved into trick-or-treating.” – Halloween History & Origin


IMG_1243

The whole crew of weirdos :~

However It’s a very recent tradition in Brazil and still not that celebrated yet but year by year it’s been growing in popularity. My friends and I usually throw a bang-up party for the occasion and this year (despite a few setbacks) wasn’t different.

Since I’m a veterinary medicine student I though an evil surgeon would fit just perfectly for my costume this time (last year I was an Oompa Loompa). Felipe dressed as an undead pirate, my sister Jéssica as the suicide squad Harley Quinn and my sister Lorena as a female version of Hanibbal Lecter from the Silent of the Lambs.

IMG_0769-0

My sister Lorena as Hannibal Lecter (without the mask because it was as hot as hell that night of reasons), my sister Jessica as Suicide Squad Harley Quinn, Felipe as an undead pirate and I (that’s a foot in my hand by the way)

This year our costumes were all custom-made, but in Manaus you can find some cool outfits and accessories for your Halloween party (and other holidays) at the Bandeirão store and at the Armarinho Manoela haberdashery (info at the end of this post).

Note: I indeed thought about using my real stethoscope for this costume, but in the end I decided a fake one would be “safer”. 😂


What about you? What’s your favorite holiday?


  •  Bandeirão store: Rua Pará (Pará st.), n76, Vieiralves, Nossa Senhora das graças district. Manaus, AM – Brasil. Opens from 8AM to 6PM. Phone: 55+(92) 3633-4145
  • Armarinho Manoela: Rua (st) Henrique Martins, 404, Centro (downtown). Manaus, AM – Brasil. Phone: 55+ (92) 3234-2864

Reply

