Anime Review: Tokyo Ghoul


Last weekend I watched two full seasons of an anime called Tokyo Ghoul.

It’s based on a homonyms manga series (which I’m reading now) written and illustrated by Ishida Sui and adapted by Pierrot Studios. I simply couldn’t stop watching it till the end of season two.

Main character Ken Kaneki in almost Kakuja form (gotta watch/read to know what a kakuja is)

Main character Ken Kaneki in almost Kakuja form (gotta watch/read to know what a kakuja is)

In a parallel world where humans live along flesh eater creatures called “ghouls” (whom are basically a mix between a zombie and a vampire) a shy young man called Ken Kaneki has his life completely changed after he suffers an accident and have some of his organs transplanted, becoming half human and half ghoul.
The ghouls also have an organized hierarchical society and are hunted down by a human organization called CCG (Commission of Counter Ghoul). Since the ghouls usually have human identities they usually wear masks under “ghoul form” so they won’t be recognized by CCG members.

The Ghuol Rize Kamishiro

The Ghoul Rize Kamishiro

Although there are the ghouls side and the humans side, the concepts of good and evil are not so explicit – each side has its own reasons, goals, heroes and villains.

The plot may sound a bit cliché at first but it has deeply emotional moments and as the story and characters develop it becomes really breathtaking!

Tokyo Ghoul Anime first season scene

Tokyo Ghoul Anime first season scene

The opening theme “unravell” composed by TK from Ling Tosite Sigure is that kind of song that sticks to your head (but you like it), its lyrics are amazing and I could relate a lot with it (as I also related a lot with Ken Kaniki issues). You should definitely add Tokyo Ghoul to your “to watch/read” list.

A brazilian fandub group named The Kira Justice has made an English version of the “Unravel” song that is very close to the original Japanese lyrics. You can watch it here:

And here are the lyrics adapted by The Kira Justice:
Oh please just tell me
what’s really going on
Just who’s inside of me
Cause i don’t really know
 I feel so broken feel so broken
and lost inside this world
And all you do is laugh without seeing a thing

I’m feeling so damaged and deceived
I hold my breath and then
I can’t untie, can’t untie myself
As I watch everything

FREEZE!

I’m breakable, unbreakable
I’m shakeable, unshakable

But finding you, just struck me down
Inside this dirty and twisted world I’m fading
Growing transparent and disappearing
Don’t look for me, don’t even look at me anymore

Inside this world I can’t let myself hurt you
But there is just one thing that I ask you to
Please, don’t forget me, remember who I am
And who I used to be

And loneliness it comes to stay
It’s widening along the way
And memories that made me smile
They now come back and make me cry

Now I can’t move, I can’t get loose
Now I can’t move, I can’t get loose
Now I can’t move, I can’t get loose
Oh, Unravel Ghoul!

Although I have been changed
I know I can’t be saved
As two become one,
Also two are now just gone

I’m breakable, unbreakable
I’m shakeable, unshakable
Please don’t let me contaminate

Inside this dirty and twisted world I’m fading
Growing transparent and disappearing
Don’t look for me, don’t even look at me anymore

Inside this trap I can’t let none hurt you
So run away and let me tell you this too
Please, don’t forget me, remember who I am
And who I used to be

Please don’t forget me
Please don’t forget me
Please don’t forget me
Please don’t forget me

As I see how I’ve changed I stop paralyzed
I find out I’m so far from my paradise
Please, don’t forget me, remember who I am…

Oh please just tell me
Oh please just tell me
Just who’s inside of me
Cause i don’t really know

WARNING: As you can probably guess by the images, it has lot of blood involved.

Reply

